Congressman Patrick Meehan

Representing the 7th District of Pennsylvania

Meehan Announces 2017 Service Academy Nominees

Feb 13, 2017
Press Release
7th District high school students receive nominations to uniformed service academies

Congressman Patrick Meehan (PA-07) announced this morning announced the nomination of 31 area high school students for admission into one of the United States’ uniformed service academies.

“Academy nominations are highly competitive and the application and interview process is rigorous,” said Congressman Meehan. “Each of these students has excelled, whether it’s in the classroom, on the playing field or in our community. They’re leaders among their peers and they’ve diligently put in the hard work necessary to earn a nomination,” Meehan said. “It’s a great honor to nominate each of them for admission to one of our uniformed service academies. As a nation, we’re blessed that so many fine young people are eager to serve their country in uniform.”

To assist in the nomination process, Rep. Meehan appointed local distinguished community members with a military background to a nonpartisan Academy Advisory Board. Nominees are selected based on factors such as academic achievements, leadership skills, extracurricular activities, physical aptitude, character and motivation.

The nomination from Rep. Meehan does not guarantee admission to a service academy. The academies’ respective admissions boards decide who is offered appointment, and ultimately admitted. Some students were nominated to multiple academies based on their qualifications and desire to attend.


The Nominees to the U.S. Service Academies for 2017 are:


United States Military Academy

Justin Altrogge, Norristown High School

Bridget Foote, Unionville High School

Bethany Hofmann, Garnet Valley High School

Camryn Howarth, Archemere Academy

Christian Huntsinger, Octorara High School

Collin Keogh, Bayard Rustin High School

Courtney Loomis, Baldwin School

Brody Monigal, Bayard Rustin High School

Steven Sommar, Downingtown High School

David Sontag, Norristown High School


United States Naval Academy

Charles Connolly, Radnor High School

John Crawford, St. Joseph's Preparatory School

Matthew Dwyer, Chichester High School

David Fohner, Archbishop Carroll High School

Bridget Foote, Unionville High School

Nicholas Marino, Hartboro-Horsham High School

Matthias Nitz, Unionville High School

Luke Paladino, Plymouth-Whitemarsh High School

William Pechet, Haverford School

Laura Winters, Haverford High School


United States Air Force Academy

Thomas Baney, Chichester High School

Jack Brosnan, Bayard Rustin High School

Madison Brown, Kennett High School

Jordan DeGaray, Twin Valley High School

Michael Dolan, Ridley High School

Collin Keogh, Bayard Rustin High School

Joshua Kreider, Solanco High School

Courtney Loomis, Baldwin School

Eliza McCarthy, Upper Darby High School 

Eric Obenschain, Twin Valley High School


United States Merchant Marine Academy

Kieran Cullen, Malvern Preparatory School

Gabriel Iula, Wissahickon High School

Elizabeth Luoma, Sun Valley High School

Luke Johansen, Central Bucks West High School